Horse Stable Review header  


Green Mountain Stables

Added: 05/22/2010 11:43pm. Last updated: 12/17/2013 3:11pm
General Information
Stable manager/owner: Bob and Gail Posey
Stable website: unknown
Type of stable: public

Address and Contact
Street: 4505 NE 238th Ave
City: Vancouver
State: WA
ZIP Code: 98682
Phone number: 360-833-1865

Property Profile
Approximate size of property: 18 acres
Approximate number of horses on property: 25-49
Approximate age of stalls: less than 10 years old
Types/sizes of stalls: Box stall
Number of arenas: 1-5
Type of footing in the arenas: Cedar hogfuel indoors, mud outdoors
Number of turnouts: 11-15
Type of turnout: both grass and dirt
Access to trails or bridle path: easy to access
Approx. number of vets in service area: 6-10
Approx. number of farriers in service area: 6-10

Trainers
Number of trainers on premises: none
Trainers for which disciplines: unknown

Amenities
Disciplines supported: Western Pleasure, Natural Horsemanship, Trail Riding, Other
Type of feed: Orchard hay, Other
Supplemental feeding services: yes
Frequency of stall cleaning: once a day
Horse shows held: no
Indoor or covered arena available: yes
Eventing course available: no
Eventing course level: N/A
Race track available: unknown
Hot walker or Euroxciser available: unknown
Grooming/care services available: unknown
Number of crossties: 1-5
Number of hitching posts: 1-5
Number of washracks: 1-5
Heated water in washracks: yes
Breeding facilities available: no
Trailer parking available: yes
Grazing available: yes

Costs
General boarding costs: $200-$400/month
Cost of trailer parking: N/A

Other
Other features: none

Information is updated by stable manager
 

Reviews for Green Mountain Stables

Add your own review
 
Disclaimer: The following reviews are solely the opinions and claimed experiences of the reviewers. Horse Stable Review does not endorse any of the following reviews and cannot attest to the veracity of the statements made by the reviewers.
 
Reviewed by LoveMyHorses on 07/22/2015 4:31pm
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Not much, I left there because of the same things that HorseVet has commented on in their post. Also agree with what HorseRider had to say.
What needs improvement:
It seems that there is a high turnover with their staff. 4 caretakers in a year and a half is a bit high. They are advertising for caretakers again.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by HorseRider on 06/29/2015 6:12pm
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful
This review has been removed due to a violation of our review guidelines or terms of use.
 
 
Reviewed by Horse Vet on 06/28/2015 11:10pm
7 out of 16 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Some of the boarders are nice. The trails across the street are ok, there isnt many and this isnt associated with the stable.
What needs improvement:
-When moving horses between turn out area and stall, they dont put halters on the horses. They put a rope around the horses neck and lead severlal horses at a time. The owner almost lost a couple of horses one day. He couldnt get them into the barn. Most l ikely bc he dindnt have control over them with just a lead rope.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Horse Vet on 06/28/2015 10:58pm
5 out of 16 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Nothing
What needs improvement:
1. The electric fence needs to actually have electricity running thrugh it.
2. feed all of the horses. Sometimes they didnt feed my horse when all the other horses had hay and i was there at feeding time So it wasnt like he ate it all quckly
3. Give the horses more than 1 flake of hay esp after i tell you exactly how much to feed per day and per feeding
4. If the owner provides grain and measures it out like you requested, the least you can do is feed it.
5. Look at the horses. Horses were stuck in fenced areas they shouldnt have been in bc theres no electric and they had fed, but didnt even know he was stuck until i got there. One horse was going through the "electric" fence and i had to tell them they were about to have a loose horse.
6. Stop saying "i know" and do something about it.
7. Again, look at the horse and tell the owner when the horse is all cut up. Dont let the owner find it themselves and you have no idea that the horse is even injured.
8. Be nice and do what you say you are going to do. Dont make the owner have to ask multiple times for the same thing.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by HorseRider on 02/14/2015 12:15am
20 out of 35 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Big indoor arena and trails are close by.
What needs improvement:
ALOT! The people that clean the stalls do a crappy job, and hardly put any bedding down, the paddocks are gravel, there is very little grass at any time of year, at least 6 inches of mud at all the gates to the pastures. The owners, Bob and Gail Posey care more about money and appearances than the horses or their owners. They feed mid quality hay and only one flake am and pm, and heaven forbid you ask them to add supplements to your horse's feed! Then you have to hope they give it to them and do it correctly! At $400.00 per month for full care and $300.00 partial care I would say that it is definitely NOT worth it!
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Current Boarder on 01/24/2015 5:04pm
38 out of 50 people found this review helpful
What I like:
The other boarders are all very nice, the staff, if they don't quit or get run off are usually professional and helpful, but not always. Rachelle was great, Tina was ok, the newest people there, Leslie and Nick were super, closest to Rachelle we got, but they are gone now, Melissa and Justin are awful, they are fake and dont really care about the horses, and have little to no horse experience.
What needs improvement:
Bob and Gail.
There are Horse people and there are horse owners. Bob and Gail are Horse owners. They treat the horses as livestock.
The facility is very nice but maybe too nice. Makes a person afraid theyll do something wrong. I will be taking my horse elsewhere very soon. Cost is more than its worth.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Kim on 11/18/2012 7:41pm
37 out of 79 people found this review helpful
What I like:
3 months ago the original owners Bob & Gail Posey have resumed ownership . They have a 100x150 covered arena and a 150x200 outside arena + round pen. This is a very friendly atmosphere and horse are kept clean and happy.
What needs improvement:
Bob is currently getting the stables in top shape.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Nwrider on 03/30/2012 6:05pm
18 out of 65 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Knowledgeable people, great indoor riding arena, wonderful trails, some really good improvements over the last couple of years
What needs improvement:
There's a boarder who's a trouble maker that should leave.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Ex-boarder on 01/08/2012 5:22pm
36 out of 84 people found this review helpful
What I like:
good sized indoor
What needs improvement:
previous review is an accurate portrayal of facility. Very poor quality hay, usually no grass in turnouts for grazing, muddy in winter. Too expensive for what you get.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Unhappy Boarder on 08/17/2011 5:03pm
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful
This review has been removed due to a violation of our review guidelines or terms of use.